Why Long Island Doctors Are A Serious Problem

I am about to tell you a story about how Long Island doctors almost ruined my life. My name is Thomas Beringer and I am 23 years old from Suffolk County Long Island, I was a perfectly healthy kid for the most part growing up and that all changed when I was 16 years old. The first thing that started happening to me was weird stomach problems I never had before, uncontrollable urges to go to the bathroom, horrible pains all went unexplained. I had a colonoscopy done which came back normal and it was treated as irritable bowel syndrome for which none of the medications worked. One day I was working at was my current job at the time Subway Restaurants and that was the day my life changed for the worst. I had been getting pains in upper back left part of my skull for a few weeks before that on and off but it felt like just a normal headache. The day I was working at subway I started getting a horrible pain in the same area and the next thing I new my legs were weak, my vision was dimmed and my heart was racing. I ended up calling an ambulance for myself as I had no idea what was happening to me and was terrified. They took me to what is a horrific excuse for an emergency room Good Samaritan Hospital, upon my arrival the doctors looking me over and performed a CT Scan which revealed a left parietal region arachnoid cyst. They told me this was of no concern and I shouldn’t worry about it. What happened to me that day was only the beginning of my symptoms and the beginning of what has been a horrific journey. Over the next few years I developed other symptoms such as blurred vision, horrific headaches, muscle weakness, bladder problems, trouble standing for an extended period of time, intolerance to heat, memory problems, trouble concentrating, nausea, dizziness all of which were diagnosed as a psychiatric issues. In between these symptoms occurring I managed to see 11 different neurologist, had 15 visits to the Emergency Room due to pain or other symptoms causing major problems and every time they treated me as a psych patient at the emergency room at doctors office. The size of the cyst that was revealed was 3.6 x 4.5 x 1.9 cm, when I asked the doctors why I was still getting horrible pains they said it was all in my head. Now from what I recently found out from a doctor who finally took me seriously in the city I was a candidate for surgery a long time ago as they cyst was big enough to cause my symptoms. This has been verified by 3 different doctors since. Every time I ended up in the emergency room or at a different neurologist due to the previous not taking me seriously I put an emphasis on the fact I DID NOT WANT PAIN MEDICATION as it was not going to fix my problems and made me sick because they made my dizziness and nausea worse. In the end it didn’t matter and every doctor and the emergency room assumed that is what I was there for. After the pharmacy shooting any hope I had of a doctor on long island taking me seriously faded away as unless you had something easily diagnosable all they care about at this point is covering their butt from screw up they contributed too in a huge way with the pain killer problem. Instead of thinking I wasn’t a psych case or getting past the fact I was so young and having all these problems they labeled me as a young kid looking for drugs or as having a panic disorder. Now I played ball with them for 2 years giving them the benefit of the doubt I might have psychiatric problems and saw the director of psychiatry at South Oaks hospital. He tried every combination of medications you could think of at all different doses and nothing remotely helped what was going on with me. How fast doctors and emergency rooms turn to psychiatric medication on long island instead of giving patients the benefit of the doubt it isn’t that is beyond scary. It wasn’t until I finally ended up at NY Presbyterian Columbia in the city did a doctor finally take me seriously, do the tests that needed to be done and figure out the problem. I lost 7 years of my life as I am now 23 years old because doctors on long island assume they know exactly what type of person everyone is and have a major problem with writing scripts for psych medication. I will be finally having this cyst removed soon and as excited as I am it will make me feel much better there are 7 years of my life I wasn’t able to enjoy myself, do well in school, suffer in horrific pain at times and had to beg doctors to help with no luck. The doctors at Good Samaritan Hospital are the biggest joke on the planet, I have had them laugh at me, saying horrible things sitting at their desk to the nurses when they though I could not hear what they were saying. They did 5 ct scans on me and not once did they have neurology come talk to me or even suggest this cyst could be causing my problem all because I was a young kid that couldn’t possibly be having these problems unless I was crazy or a drug seeker. Make no mistake people the doctors on Long Island help in more ways than you know to cause this pain killer problem by being careless with how they wrote them, who they wrote them too and are no making people suffer because of their screw up. As people are addicted to pain killers they are addicted to ignorance, getting kick back for psych medications and stereotyping young people who could actually have real medical problems going on. I pray that nobody goes through what I did and a word of advice if you live on long island and are having health issues that are complex go into the city to have them sorted out because you will waste a lot of time money and emotion on attempting to figure it out.

About tjber89

I'm very opinionated and believe in saying what I believe in so I'm looking forward to my new blog =)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

